About Us AOA Events Past BIOM Abstract Competitions

Past BIOM Abstract Competitions

Global health

Bureau of International Osteopathic Medicine Abstract Competition

The American Osteopathic Association’s Bureau of International Osteopathic Medicine (BIOM) presented its 25th Annual International Seminar during OMED 2023. In conjunction with the seminar, BIOM sponsored a global health competition open to all U.S. osteopathic medical students and resident physicians. The winners, with their submitted posters, are listed below:

Poster winners

Best Overall Winner ($1,500 prize):

Tafadzwa Amani, OMS IV, from KCU-COM, for her abstract “Epidemiology of Diabetic Peripheral Neuropathy and Associated Factors in Rural Guatemala.”

Research Abstract Category:

First Place ($750 prize): Megan Sampath, OMS II, and Onyinyechi Nwosu, OMS II, from BCOM, for their abstract “Knowledge and beliefs about the human papillomavirus and its vaccine are consistent across healthcare providers in the Paso del Norte region…”

Second Place ($500 prize): Akila Goel, OMS II, from NYITCOM, for her abstract “Utilization of multivitamin supplementation in conjunction with albendazole antiparasitic agent protocols among patients in the Dominican Republic.”

Narrative Medicine Essay Category:

First Place ($750 prize): Samyukthaa Saiprakash, OMS III, from SHSU-COM, for her essay “The Mother of Invention.”

Second Place ($500 prize): Kamryn Benscoter, OMS II, from MU-COM, for her essay “Honduras: A Mutualistic Experience.”


The competition’s two categories were:

  • Global health research abstracts (up to 500 words).
  • Narrative medicine essays related to global health work, including opinions and personal impact (up to 1,500 words).

All entries had to be focused on the entrants’ experiences with global health and/or providing health care internationally. Schools/programs had to review and attest to approval of each submission. Research projects also needed institutional review board (IRB) approval.

Thank you to DOCARE International, the Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents and the Student Osteopathic Medical Association for their contributions towards the competition prize money.

Back To Top