Get the latest COVID-19 updates | View the status of upcoming AOA meetings


CME Guide

Lifelong Learning

CME policies for osteopathic physicians

Learn about AOA Board Certification requirements for the 2019-2021 CME cycle.

Effective Jan. 1, 2013, all AOA specialty certifying boards implemented a continuous certification process for osteopathic physicians called Osteopathic Continuous Certification (OCC). This guide outlines the requirements for OCC Component 2: Lifelong Learning/Continuing Medical Education, and the activities that may serve to meet those requirements.

Download the guide

Inside the guide

CME Requirements

Types of CME Credit

Non-qualifying Activities

Reporting CME

CME Proration


Credit for Standardized Life Support Courses

CME Requirements for Dormant Specialty Boards

The Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists of the American Osteopathic Association (BOS) maintains the right to update the guide as needed. The BOS reserves the right to evaluate all programs and activities on an individual basis. Osteopathic physicians are responsible for keeping abreast of the rules and regulations of CME.

Back To Top