About Us AOA Awards Distinguished Service Award

Distinguished Service Award

Leaders of the profession

The AOA's highest honor recognizes contributions to osteopathic profession

Submissions are due May 10, and the award will be presented during the annual meeting of the AOA House of Delegates.


We are pleased to announce nominations are being accepted for the AOA’s highest honor, the Distinguished Service Award. This prestigious award is presented annually to deserving physicians or lay individuals for outstanding contributions to the understanding and advancement of osteopathic medicine through research, education, financial aid, or other areas that enable the profession to make a greater contribution to public health.


The award will be made on the basis of outstanding achievement by an individual. Preferential consideration will be given to those individuals whose service has been to or through the osteopathic medical profession.


The deadline for nominations is 11:59 p.m. CT on Monday, May 10, 2021. The award(s) will be presented at the 2021 House of Delegates.

Criteria for Eligibility

The criteria for selection of these outstanding nominees shall include one or more of the following:

  • Contribution to the advancement of the osteopathic medical profession;
  • Contribution to the art and science of osteopathic medical education;
  • Contribution to the osteopathic profession through research; and/or
  • Contribution to the osteopathic profession through philanthropic leadership.

Nomination Requirements:

Nominations should include the following:

  • Curriculum vitae of nominee
  • Letter of recommendation from the nominating affiliate’s governing board (e.g. state osteopathic medical, osteopathic specialty society, college of osteopathic medicine, and/or non-practice affiliate)
  • Photo of nominee (optional)
  • Any additional supporting documentation (optional)
Questions can be sent to Priya Garg at pgarg@osteopathic.org.
Back To Top