We've upgraded our system! Please take a moment to reset your AOA password by clicking LOGIN and following the instructions.

Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation COCA Members

COCA Members

Change leaders

Meet the members of the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA)

COCA oversees accreditation standards and procedures for colleges of osteopathic medicine.

2022-23 COCA membership roster

John M. Kauffman, Jr., DO, FACOI, FACP, Chair
Founding Dean and Professor of Medicine
The proposed Duquesne University – College of Osteopathic Medicine
Pittsburgh, PA
Dean (2022-25)
COCA Executive Committee Member

Jeffrey Stroup, PharmD, FCCP, BCPS, Vice Chair
Chief Operating Officer
Oklahoma State University Medical Authority and Trust
Professor of Internal Medicine, Senior Associate Dean, Provost and Vice President of Strategy
Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences
Tulsa, OK
Hospital Administrator (2022-25)
COCA Executive Committee Member

Juan F. Acosta, DO, MS, FACOEP-D, FACEP
Associate Medical Director, Emergency Department
Saint Catherine of Siena Medical Center
Secretary/Treasurer, Assembly of Osteopathic Graduate Medical Educators
Smithtown, NY
Osteopathic Physician at Large (2021-24)

Muneer Assi, DO, PA
Private Practice Physician – Internal Medicine
El Paso, TX
Osteopathic Physician at Large (2022-25)

Susan Belanger, PhD, MA-HCML, MA-BEHP, RN, HEC-C, NEA-BC
Senior Vice President of Mission Integration and Ethics
Covenant Health
Tewksbury, MA
Public Member (2021-24)

Adam Berry, OMS III
Rocky Vista University
Ivins, UT
Student – Nominated by SOMA (2022-24)

Serene Bethune, DO
Attending Physician
Crusader Community Health
Rockford, IL
Resident/Fellow/New Physician in Practice (2022-25)

Courtney Blau, JD, LLM, RDMS, CHC
Senior Legal Counsel, Risk Management & Compliance
Norman Regional Health Systems
Norman, OK
Public Member (2022-25)

Linda Boyd, DO
Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean
West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine
Lewisburg, WV
Osteopathic Physician at Large (2022-25)

Nadege Dady, EdD
Dean of Student Affairs & Assistant Professor
Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine
New York, NY
Student Services Representative (2021-24)

David A. Forstein, DO, FACOOG
President, Chief Executive Officer, and Provost
Rocky Vista University
Board of Directors, Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education
Denver, CO
GME Leader (2020-23)
COCA Executive Committee Member

Jennifer L. Gwilym, DO, FACOFP, FAAFP
Assistant Dean, Southeastern and Central Ohio and Assistant Clinical Professor
Ohio University-Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine
Athens, OH
Biomedical Science Faculty (2020-23)

Lori A. Kemper, DO, MS, FACOFP
Midwestern University/Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine
Family medicine specialist
Glendale, AZ
Dean (2020-23)
COCA Executive Committee Member

Brian A. Kessler, DO, FACOFP
Dean and Chief Academic Officer
Campbell University-Jerry M. Wallace School of Osteopathic Medicine
Buies Creek, NC
GME Leader (2021-24)
COCA Executive Committee Member

Janice A. Knebl, DO, MBA, FACOI, FACP
Director, Center for Geriatrics
DSWOP Endowed Chair and Professor, Internal Medicine and Geriatrics University of North Texas Health Science Center
Fort Worth, TX
Clinical Science Faculty (2021-24)
COCA Executive Committee Member

William McCord, Jr., DO, FAAFP
McCord Anesthesia and Consulting
Past Chair, Federation of State Medical Boards
Huntsville, AL
State Medical Licensing Board Physician Member (2020-23)

Richard C. Osborn, MA, PhD
Alameda, CA
Public Member (2021-24)

Robyn Phillips-Madson, DO, MPH, FACOFP
San Antonio, TX
Dean (2020-23)
COCA Executive Committee Member

Evelyn A. Schwalenberg, DO, FACP, FACOI, FNAOME
Associate Clinical Professor and Director of Medical Student Clinical Education and Advising
University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine
Internal medicine specialist
Biddeford, ME
Osteopathic Physician at Large (2021-24)

Herchran Singh, OMS IV
A.T. Still University School of Osteopathic Medicine – Arizona
Mesa, AZ
Student – Nominated by COSGP (2021-23)

James M. Turner, DO, FACOFP, FACOEP-D
Sr. Vice President to the Office of the President & CEO
Arkansas Colleges of Health Education
Fort Smith, AR
Osteopathic Physician at Large (2021-24)

Back To Top