For GME Leaders Single GME Transition

Single GME Transition

A new era of graduate medical education

From July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2020, the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) and the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) worked to successfully transition to a single accreditation system for graduate medical education in the U.S.

The single GME accreditation system provides for consistent methods of evaluation and accountability, it enhances opportunities for all resident physicians, and it enhances transparency to outside entities, including the federal government, licensing boards, credentials committees and the public.

The single GME accreditation system is limited to GME. Osteopathic entities including the accreditation of colleges of osteopathic medicine, AOA board certification, and osteopathic licensing examinations are preserved.

The single GME accreditation system also incorporates osteopathic medicine through the addition of Osteopathic Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine (ONMM) as a specialty accredited by ACGME and through the designation of Osteopathic Recognition. All ACGME accredited programs can receive Osteopathic Recognition by offering education in Osteopathic Principles and Practice (OPP).

Osteopathic recognition

Achieving osteopathic recognition is a proven means of attracting top-notch DO talent to your residency program—and osteopathic recognition benefits patients and hospitals as well.

Learn why
Back To Top