Board of Trustees

William Mayo, DO


Photo of William Mayo, DO

On July 21, 2018, the AOA inaugurated William S. Mayo, DO, as the 2018-19 President of the AOA. Dr. Mayo is a board-certified ophthalmologist practicing in Oxford, Mississippi. He also is a clinical instructor at the William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, where he served as chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology from 2010–2012.

Throughout his tenure, Dr. Mayo has served the AOA in many capacities, including as chair of the Department of Governmental Affairs, the Department of Affiliate Relations, the Department of Business Affairs, and as vice chair and chair of the Department of Educational Affairs. Additionally, Dr. Mayo is a past president of the Mississippi Osteopathic Medical Association and the Mississippi EENT Society. He also has served on the Mississippi State Board of Medical Licensure since 2006 and was president from 2010-2012.

After earning his osteopathic medical degree from what is now the Kansas City (Missouri) University of Medicine and Biosciences College of Osteopathic Medicine in 1981, Dr. Mayo completed an internship and ophthalmology residency at the University of Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson.​​​

Back to Leadership