Registration for DO Day 2024 is now open! | REGISTER TODAY!

News Releases

The American Osteopathic Association Announces Accreditation Decisions for Several Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine

By AOA Media Team


CHICAGO, May 20, 2015— The American Osteopathic Association’s Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) today announced accreditation decisions made at its April 18-19, 2015 meeting. 

  • Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine in Dothan, Alabama received continuing provisional accreditation;

  • Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine in Las Cruces, New Mexico:

  • Effective April 19 through June 30, 2015- received pre-accreditation status with permission to recruit but not to admit students or offer instruction

  • Provisional accreditation status becomes effective July 1, 2015 and runs through June 30, 2020;

  • Campbell University – Jerry M. Wallace School of Osteopathic Medicine in Buies Creek, North Carolina received continuing provisional accreditation;

  • Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine in Des Moines, Iowa received continuing accreditation;

  • Liberty University College of Osteopathic Medicine in Lynchburg, Virginia received continuing provisional accreditation;

  • Marian University College of Osteopathic Medicine in Indianapolis received continuing provisional accreditation;

  • Ohio University-Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine in Athens, Ohio received continuing accreditation;

  • The accreditation of parent college Ohio University-Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine (Athens, Ohio) was extended to its additional location in Dublin, Ohio;

  • The accreditation of parent college Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine (New York) was extended to its additional location in Middletown, New York.

The COCA is recognized by the United States Department of Education as the accreditor of colleges of osteopathic medicine. Accreditation from the COCA signifies that a college has met or exceeded the Commission’s standards for educational quality.

This information is being provided pursuant to 34 CFR 602.26 issued by the U.S. Department of Education.

About Accreditation Statuses

Pre-accreditation is the initial recognition status awarded by the COCA. Pre-accreditation is reviewed annually, with an on-site visit when indicated. Initial pre-accreditation is awarded following receipt of a feasibility study and an on-site visit to determine that prerequisites have been met and that the developing college of osteopathic medicine may be expected to attain the next level of accreditation status— provisional accreditation—within the five-year term of pre-accreditation. Colleges holding pre-accreditation may not recruit, accept applications from or admit prospective students. Pre-accreditation status also does not establish eligibility to participate in federally funded student financial aid programs.

The COCA grants provisional accreditation to new colleges of osteopathic medicine through the time of graduation of the first class. The COCA reviews schools with provisional accreditation annually to assess the academic progress of first, second and third-year classes up to their time of graduation. Initial provisional accreditation is awarded when a college is able to demonstrate that it will be able to initiate instruction by a specified date.

Continuing provisional accreditation is awarded based upon demonstrating that a college is meeting the standards for accreditation for each class of instruction being offered.

Initial accreditation is granted if the accreditation standards are clearly being exceeded or met at the time of graduation of the college of osteopathic medicine’s first class. Accreditation status is the highest level of accreditation awarded, and confers all rights and privileges of accreditation.  Accreditation status is reviewed within a seven-year survey cycle of self-study and comprehensive on-site evaluation.

Continuing accreditation is granted to those colleges that exceed or meet the accreditation standards. Once accreditation status is attained, the college will retain that status until such time as it may be withdrawn by the COCA.

About the American Osteopathic Association

The American Osteopathic Association (AOA) represents more than 110,000 osteopathic physicians (DOs) and osteopathic medical students; promotes public health; encourages scientific research; serves as the primary certifying body for DOs; and is the accrediting agency for osteopathic medical schools. More information on DOs/osteopathic medicine can be found at


Media Contact:    

Nicole Grady
(312) 202-8038 (Office)