Distinguished Service Award

Distinguished Service Award

Leaders of the profession

AOA seeks nominations for its Distinguished Service Award

Know someone who deserves recognition for advancing the osteopathic profession? Consider nominating them for the AOA's highest honor.


The Distinguished Service Certificate is the American Osteopathic Association’s (AOA) highest honor. It is awarded annually to deserving physicians or lay individuals for outstanding accomplishments in advancing the science and art of osteopathic medicine, education, philanthropy, or other fields of public service.


The award will be made on the basis of outstanding achievement by an individual. Preferential consideration will be given to those individuals whose service has been to or through the osteopathic medical profession.


The deadline for nominations is May 31, 2020. Nominations will be submitted to the AOA Awards Committee on June 1. The award(s) will be presented at OMED 2020.

Criteria for Eligibility

The criteria for selection of these outstanding nominees shall include one or more of the following:

  • Contribution to the advancement of the osteopathic medical profession;
  • Contribution to the art and science of osteopathic medical education;
  • Contribution to the osteopathic profession through research; and/or
  • Contribution to the osteopathic profession through philanthropic leadership.

Nomination Requirements:

The following must be sent to William Padilla at wpadilla@osteopathic.org:

  • Completed Nomination Form (second page of the attached);
  • A curriculum vitae of the nominee; and
  • A letter of recommendation from the nominating affiliate’s Governing Board (state osteopathic medical association, osteopathic specialty society, college of osteopathic medicine, and/or nonpractice affiliate).


Back To Top