CME CME Guide CME Requirements

CME Requirements

2019-21 CME GUIDE

Review OCC Component 2 requirements

For the 2019-2021 CME cycle, all non-time-limited diplomates not participating in OCC will be required to earn 120 total CME credits.

The following requirements apply to all physicians who hold osteopathic board certification through the AOA and its specialty certifying boards (also known as diplomates). Select your diplomate status below to view general requirements:

Time-limited diplomates

All time-limited diplomates certified by the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) are required to meet CME credit hour requirements for the 2019-2021 CME cycle as part of Osteopathic Continuous (OCC) Component 2.

The number of CME credits required is set by each specialty certifying board. Physicians entering the mid-cycle will have their credit requirements prorated. Learn more.

A physician’s CME Activity Report will outline his or her total CME requirement and the amount of credits required in Categories 1 and 2. The table below lists the requirements by specialty board. Diplomates who hold time-limited certifications must complete the Lifelong Learning/CME requirement as outlined below in addition to the other components of OCC.

Non time-limited diplomates

Traditionally the AOA has required 120 total CME (150 for Emergency Medicine, Family Practice, and Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine) for non-time-limited physicians.

For the 2019-2021 CME cycle, all non-time-limited diplomates will be required to complete 120 total CME regardless of specialty. These credits must be earned in the same proportions as those for time-limited diplomates, in accordance with the rules and caps outlined in the CME Guide.

The requirements outlined in the specialty table below apply to non-time-limited diplomates who choose to voluntarily participate in OCC.

Specialty-specific CME

In the past, AOA specialty certifying boards have required specialty-specific CME. Active AOA specialty certifying boards will not require diplomates to obtain specialty-specific CME during the 2019-2021 CME cycle. All faculty of Category 1-A and Category 2-A CME must be board certified by an AOA or American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) board or have been appropriately credentialed as outlined in Appendix D to qualify as Category 1-A or 2-A.

There is a specialty-specific CME requirement for those diplomates holding time-limited certification from a dormant specialty certifying board (see Appendix F).

Please note the requirements listed on the following pages are for the purposes of AOA certification only. It is the responsibility of the individual physician to stay informed about their CME requirements for state licensure, membership in other organizations, etc.

CME requirements by specialty board per 3-year cycle

For the 2019-2021 CME cycle, all non-time-limited diplomates will be required to earn 120 total CME credits regardless of specialty, unless they choose to voluntarily participate in OCC. All time-limited diplomates and non-time-limited diplomates voluntarily participating in OCC are required to meet the requirements of their board(s) as listed below:

Conjoint certifications

Conjoint certifications are subspecialty certifications. As such, all conjoint certificate holders must abide by the requirement of their primary certification board. There is no additional CME required to maintain a conjoint certification.

Back To Top