CME CME Guide CME Requirements

CME Requirements

2016-18 CME GUIDE

CME Guide outlines requirements for 2016-18 reporting cycle

Physicians should consult their specialty boards to learn about CME requirements for maintaining board certification.

NOTE: The following CME Policy Updates were placed in effect following publication of the 2016-18 AOA CME Guide.

  • The requirement that physicians earn 120 general CME credits per three-year CME cycle to maintain membership is no longer being enforced per a vote from the AOA Board of Trustees on July 21, 2016. The change was made to lessen the burden of required CME reporting for physicians.
  • If you’re AOA board certified, you must follow your specialty board’s CME requirements in order to maintain your board certification. Currently, AOA certification boards require physicians to earn 120-150 credits per CME cycle, with at least 50 of those credits in your specialty area. For details on requirements in your specialty, check with your certification board.
  • In the upcoming 2019-2021 CME cycle, physicians will be required to earn at least 60 specialty CME credits from AOA- or ACGME-accredited sponsors. Individual AOA certifying boards may implement additional requirements, including osteopathic-specific CME requirements. The AOA Board of Osteopathic Specialists is determining how this change will be implemented. Check with your certifying board for details on requirements in your specialty. Learn more in the Board of Trustees Resolution on CME for Osteopathic Continuous Certification, passed in March 2017.

From the CME Guide

All members of the AOA are required to participate in the Continuing Medical Education program and to meet specified CME credit hour requirements for the 2016-2018 CME cycle, unless exempted from this process by disability or membership status.

One hundred and twenty (120) CME credits are required for membership in the American Osteopathic Association within this three-year cycle, beginning January 1, 2016 and ending December 31, 2018. Of this total, thirty (30) CME credits must be obtained in Category 1-A and the remaining ninety (90) CME credits may be obtained with either Category 1-A, 1-B, 2-A, or 2-B credits. Physicians entering the program in mid-cycle will have their credit requirements prorated. A physician’s CME Activity Report will outline his or her total CME requirement and the amount of credits required in categories 1 and 2.

Members who obtain one hundred and fifty (150) credits or more of AOA approved applicable CME credit in a three-year CME cycle will be given a certificate of excellence in CME. These hours must be earned by December 31, but reported no later than May 31 following the close of the current CME cycle.

AOA recognizes that members holding specialty or subspecialty certificates in specialties with less than three hundred (300) certificate holders may have difficulty accruing the required number of AOA 1-A credits for maintenance of membership. In such cases, members may apply AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ or AAFP category 1 credits to their AOA 1-A credit requirement up to the maximum of 15 CME credits per cycle to meet the Category 1-A credit requirement for membership.

To qualify for AOA Category 1-A CME credit under this policy the following criteria must be met:

  • Osteopathic physicians must be a member of the AOA
  • Physicians’ must be AOA and/or ABMS certified
  • The specialty/subspecialty must be listed as a qualifying specialty

To request eligibility in this program, physicians should contact their certifying board. Specialty colleges may petition the Council on Continuing Medical Education (CCME) to have members exempted from the current policy if that specialty college feels that sufficient CME is available in the specialty or subspecialty listed for exemption. To do this, specialty affiliates must submit a detailed list of courses which provide CME that meets the needs of the specialty or subspecialty physicians. Note: This exemption only applies to the thirty (30) Categories 1-A CME credits required for membership in the AOA.

The acceptance of ACCME accredited provider for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™; AAFP, or credits from any other certifying body by the CCME in order fulfill AOA CME requirement does not convert said credits to AOA credits.

Back To Top