CME CME Guide CME for Certified Physicians

CME for Certified Physicians

2016-18 CME GUIDE

CME requirements for board certified physicians

Policies detail CME requirements for DOs who hold AOA or ABMS board certification.

NOTE: The following CME Policy Updates were placed in effect following publication of the 2016-18 AOA CME Guide.

  • The requirement that physicians earn 120 general CME credits per three-year CME cycle to maintain membership is no longer being enforced per a vote from the AOA Board of Trustees on July 21, 2016. The change was made to lessen the burden of required CME reporting for physicians.
  • If you’re AOA board certified, you must follow your specialty board’s CME requirements in order to maintain your board certification. Currently, AOA certification boards require physicians to earn 120-150 credits per CME cycle, with at least 50 of those credits in your specialty area. For details on requirements in your specialty, check with your certification board.
  • In the upcoming 2019-2021 CME cycle, physicians will be required to earn at least 60 specialty CME credits from AOA- or ACGME-accredited sponsors. Individual AOA certifying boards may implement additional requirements, including osteopathic-specific CME requirements. The AOA Board of Osteopathic Specialists is determining how this change will be implemented. Check with your certifying board for details on requirements in your specialty. Learn more in the Board of Trustees Resolution on CME for Osteopathic Continuous Certification, passed in March 2017.

From the CME Guide:

AOA Board Certified Physicians

  • Physicians who are board certified are required to earn a minimum of fifty (50) CME credits within their specialty in each three-year CME cycle. These credits may be earned in Category 1 or Category 2 according to the requirements established by the AOA Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists (BOS). (Please see Certifying Board for clarification.)
  • Certifications of Added Qualification Subspecialty. For osteopathic physicians holding certification(s) of added qualification (CAQs), a minimum of 25% of the credits (13 credits) must be earned at the level of the CAQ. At least 30% of the specialty CME credits (15 credits) must be earned in the primary certification.
  • CME sponsored by osteopathic specialty affiliates in the individual’s declared specialty will be applied to this requirement on an unlimited hour-by-hour basis.

ABMS Board Certified Physicians

  • Physicians who are both AOA and ABMS board certified are required to earn the same specialty CME credit hours as DOs who are AOA board certified only in order to meet AOA specialty requirements.
  • Physicians who are solely certified in an ABMS specialty are required to obtain a minimum of ten (10) Category 1-A credits in AOA sponsored CME programs during each three year CME cycle in order to meet AOA specialty requirements.
  • Physicians who are solely certified through the ABMS must meet the 120 hour AOA membership requirement.

Please contact the certifying board for information regarding the use of preceptoring or other credits towards this requirement.


Back To Top